Nowhere in Particular

Author(s): Joy H. Davidson

NZ | 10+

When Milly's beloved grandmother dies, she and her parents have to leave their home in the city and take over the remote family farm. Sad and isolated, Milly spends her days playing alone - until, as if out of nowhere, Max and Poppy show up.

The three children quickly become inseparable. But Max and Poppy aren't what they seem, which Milly finds out one stormy night when a terrified Max tells her that Poppy is missing.

To save her best friend, Milly must cross the mysterious Bridge to Nowhere and enter a land filled with spirits, gremlins, gargoyles and sorcerers. Here, she will start to uncover the truth about her own destiny - and her grandmother's secret past.

This middle-grade fantasy story is the first in a trilogy about 10-year-old Milly's adventures in Nowhere in Particular, a world teeming with unforgettable characters that range from charming to sinister. Author Joy H. Davidson has woven a fast-paced storyline that will captivate and delight both children and parents, while, at the same time, exploring themes of loss, friendship, resilience and self-belief with wit and sensitivity. With dozens of stunning illustrations by Nina Kudinova, Nowhere in Particular fills a gap in the market by catering to children aged 7-10 who are ready to transition from picture books to chapter books.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

"A beautifully illustrated story in a fantasy land... It reads like a mix of Enid Blyton and The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. A fantastical adventure."

"Young readers of magical adventure tales will surely be engrossed in this tale and will eagerly await the next installments."

Joy's debut book, Witch's Cat Wanted Apply Within, published by Scholastic New Zealand, won the coveted 2015 Joy Cowley award followed by a Storylines Notable book award in 2017. The book has now been adapted for the stage by the renowned Christchurch Children's Theatre, and as an audio story on air by Radio New Zealand. By the end of 2018 Joy will have 5 published books, with another 3 due for release in 2019. This is Joy's first chapter book being 4 years in the making. It is the first book in a trilogy.

General Fields

  • : 9780473448301
  • : DHD Publishing
  • : DHD Publishing
  • : July 2019
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Joy H. Davidson
  • : Paperback
  • : Nina Kudinova
  • : 823.3
  • : 150